Set up in 1990 in Kustanay under name of Friday the 13th. Band line up was: Vladimir Asanov (Cherep) - guitar, Sergei Lapuhin - bass, Rustam Bulatov (Skazka) - vocal and guitar. Later Victor Davityan (Tyan) - drums joined the band. The rehearsals were held in the local Institute under the wing of Kustanay rock club. Aa for the music itself Friday the 13th played hard rock claiming on thrash metal. In due course Lapuh was sacked fron the band - other members just "forgot" to tell him about next rehearsal. Having in store only 3-4 songs they started thinking of a new name for the band. Here are some variants: Brainstorm, Liechtenstein, Frranz.

In 1992 Skazka's singing didn't fit to new standards since they decided to play death metal being inder impression of such bands as Morbid Angel, Bolt Thrower, Napalm Death, Death. the vocalist was found instantly - his name was Konstantin Sheiko, he was one of the students who often hang around at the rehearsals. The only thing he left to the band was lyrics for "Hell On Earth" song. It was during that period when songs like "Cenotaph", "War", "Re-Anomation" were written and became part of the band's repertoire for long time.

The most productive and favorable year was 1993. Firstly at last the name for the band was chosen. The group was named Orphan after ancient legendary Black sabbath's support band, which perished with its full complement in a plane crash. Second they found a vocalist who could growl like in tough death metal bands. He came from Alma-Ata and his name was Gorbyl (Sergei Gorsht in passport, born on January 7!!!). Besides he was bearded and long-haired, and looked evil on the whole. Skazka qwitched to bass and place of the second guitarist was occupied by Denis Afanasiev (Bucks).

That was the time when history of Orphan started in its classic line-up: Gorbyl - Cherep - Bucks - Skazka - Tyan. After hard rehearsals and gettign approved by the local Philharmonic Society the first gig was performed on February 11, 1994. In spring of the same year in Rudny a demo was recorded which included 4 tracks represented in Music section. Also in Rudny Orpan played their second concert whaich became the last for Skazka who got married and left for Russia.

In autumn of 1994 they did everything else - wrote new songs, participated in Profane Public project. Bucks was made into bassist and the second guitarist became Yuriy Novogrenko (Dlinny) - and old friend of the band. On New Year's Eve they again performed in Rudny in Club of Young Sailors, though they played songs from Profane Public project in three: Cherep - Bucks - Tyan.

In spring of 1995 Orphan played in Magnitogorsk on Art Platform festival. After that it was a long lull which lasted till the next Magnitogorsk festival during which they played without Dlinny but took the third place amoung groups playing in ROCK category. In summer of the same year Orphan participated in Youth to Century XXI action in Kustanay. In autumn they played their last (up to this day) gig which was held in DK Yunost in Kustanay supported by local band DLM.


[ To the first page ]

Собрались в 1990 году в Кустанае под названием "Пятница 13" в составе Владимир Асанов (Череп) - гитара, Сергей Лапухин - бас, Рустам Булатов (Сказка) - вокал, гитара. Позже к ним присоединился Виктор Давитян (Тян) - барабаны. Репетиции проходили в местном ВУЗе под крылом Кустанайского рок-клуба. Что касется самой музыки, то "Пятница 13" играли хард-рок с претензией на треш. Со временем Лапух был выставлен из группы, его просто "забывали" предупредить об очередной репетиции. Имея в запасе всего каких то 3-4 вещи, стали подумывать над новым названием группы. Вот лишь некоторые варианты: Brainstorm, Liechtenstein, Frranz.

В 1992 году пение Сказки уже не подходило под новые стандарты, так как решили играть death-metal, под впечатлением таких групп как Morbid Angel, Bolt Thrower, Napalm Death, Death. Певец тут же отыскался, им стал один из студентов, часто торчавших на репетициях, по имени Константин Шейко. После него остался лишь текст к песне "Ад на Земле". В этот период были написаны такие вещи как "Кенотаф", "Война", "Реанимация", которые вошли в репертуар группы на долгое время.

Самым плодотворным и насыщенным стал год 1993. Во-первых наконец то придумали название: группа была названа в честь древней легендарной саппорт-банды Black Sabbath, которая разбилась в полном составе в авиакатастрофе; во-вторых был найден вокалист которым умел петь гроулом как в крутых детовых группах. Занесло его из Алма-Аты, а звали его Горбыль (по паспорту Сергей Горшт, рожденный 7 января!!!), плюс он был бородатый и волосатый, в общем злой дядька с виду. Сказка переключился на бас, а вторым гитаристом стал Денис Афанасьев (Бакс).

Именно с этого момента начинается история Orphan в своем классическом составе: Горбыль - Череп - Бакс - Сказка - Тян. После усиленных репетиций и с одобрения Филармонии был дан первый концерт, который состоялся 11 февраля 1994 года. Весной того же года в Рудном была сделана демо-запись, в которую вошли 4 трека, представленные в разделе Музыка. В Рудном же Orphan сыграли свой второй концерт, ставший последним выступление Сказки, который женился и уехал в Россию.

Осенью 1994 года занимались всем подряд, делали новые вещи, поучаствовали в проекте Profane Public. Из Бакса сделали бассиста, а вторым гитаристом стал Юрий Новогренко (Длинный) - давний друг всей группы. А под Новый год опять играли в Рудном в Клубе Моряков, правда исполняли вещи из проекта Profane Public втроем: Череп - Бакс - Тян.

Весной 1995 состоялось выступление на фестивале Арт-Платформа в Магнитогорске, после чего наступило долгое затишье, которое длилось аж до следующего магнитогорского фестиваля, где уже выступали без Длинного, но зато заняли 3 место среди групп, играющих в стиле "РОК". Летом того же года Orphan приняли участие в акции Молодежь-21 веку в Кустанае, а осенью 1996 сыграли свой последний на сегодняшний день концерт, который состоялся в ДК "Юность" в Кустанае при поддержке местной группы DLM.


[ На первую страницу ]